Let me preface this with, I'm not quite at the point where I have my shit together to the degree that would facilitate me sitting down, putting on makeup, taking pictures and posting them. I will get there eventually, I promise!
That being said, I bring to you today two products that I hate to love. But love them I certainly do.
Lancome Hypnose Star Mascara:
I don't want to love you. I really don't. You are expensive, and you're one of those well-known brands and I was convinced I was firmly entrenched in the indie / drugstore camp. How foolish of me. My overarching resolve to find beautiful replacements / dupes of the Hot du Jour has not wavered. But honestly, we're talking mascara here. You put it on your eyes!!! It's one of those cosmetic products that you can't sanitize, shouldn't share and could, at any moment, go horribly wrong. But not the Lancome. Oh, no.
I had heard good things about the Lancome Hypnose Star mascara and was determined to try it, but had already segued out of "hey, let's blow lots of money on expensive products" and into "I'm a makeup junkie, but oh shit, I need to rein this in, or disaster will strike!!" So, I listed this mascara on my wish list in the MakeupExchange subreddit and fortunately for me (my wallet), I obtained a deluxe sample of this mascara.
It went on beautifully. It is very light (in terms of not being intrusive, as some mascaras can be). It's deliciously black (awww yiss!). I've had it on for a few hours, and it hasn't flaked or faded.
I really dig this mascara. And I might have to purchase it...
Incidentally, I am also enamoured with Hypnose Star's cousin, or maybe sister, Lancome Cils Booster XL Super-Enhancing Mascara Base. Sweet jesus, that's a long damned name!!! But it's a pretty sweet product. It goes on white, and then dries to clear / invisible. The Cils Booster does an excellent job on your lashes for those times you don't want to wear mascara (I know, that sounds ridiculous to me, too!!).
Next up, Peter Thomas Roth!
Peter Thomas Roth FIRMx(tm) Peeling Gel. Oh ma lawd. I'm not sure if this is some gimmick whereby you slather it on and it is chemically engineered to ball up and appear as if it is sweeping away those dull, dry, dead skin cells on your face, or if it is some magical wizard potion sent by some magical skincare deity. Whatever it is, I love it! You smooth it on, and massage gently with your fingertips. Wee balls of...something appear under your fingertips, and voila! Your face feels like a baby's arse. I will let you know how this works out, after I've used my deluxe sample for a few days.
PTR, I don't want to love you!! You're soooo expensive and honestly, I'm trying to fly the straight and narrow, where purchasing is concerned. But you...you are very, very tempting and I fear that I might succumb to your charms one day. I'd better get cracking on inventing that thing, that I patent, and then license for a handsome sum. Ha ha ha. Stop being so damn sexy PTR!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment